close window
 Who We Are / FMCS Today / Notable Events
  Commissioner Rich Giacolone Elected President of Society of Federal Labor and Employee Relations Professionals

Release Date: 10/31/2013

In a recent election of officers for their organization, members of the Society of Federal Labor & Employee Relations Professionals (SFLERP) chose FMCS Commissioner Richard Giacolone as their national president for a two-year term.  Commissioner Giacolone, who is based in Chesapeake, VA has in the past served as Director of the FMCS International/ADR Department, and Special Assistant to the Director of FMCS.  He was also the founding Director of the FMCS Institute for Conflict Resolution. In addition, he is a recipient of SFLERP's Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to the Federal Labor-Management Relations Program. 
Commissioner Giacolone's other honors include the Meritorious Civilian Service Medal for his contributions to the Department of Navy Labor and Employee Relations program. He also has been inducted into the Federal Dispute Resolution Conference “Hall of Fame.”
Newly elected national SFLERP officers include Scott Schwartz, Trial Attorney with the National Credit Union Administration, elected as First Vice-President (management); and May Silverstein, Assistant Counsel and National Representative with the National Treasury Employees Union, elected as Second Vice-President (labor).  As per SFLERP by-laws, the positions of officers rotate every two years among the member constituencies and this time the presidency moved to a neutral representative.

Howard Friedman, President of the Trademark Society, NTEU Chapter 245, who served as SFLERP president for the past two years, remains on the SFLERP board as a non-voting past-president.   

SFLERP members include employee and labor relations professionals from virtually all federal government agencies and labor organizations; private legal practitioners; neutrals such as arbitrators, mediators, facilitators, judges, and conflict resolution specialists, as well as professionals at the FLRA, FMCS, FSIP, EEOC, MSPB, and the Office of Compliance. The membership also includes trainers, academics, researchers, students and retirees.
For more information,click here.